The confirmation email will be sent to you when the first person has registered. The 'stop sending' is a button that overrides all other scheduled data. So if for example you have entered in the last reminder that it will be sent on October 5, 2019 but you have entered the date of October 4 at 'stop sending' then he will not send all e-mails anymore.
This means that you can send an e-mail afterwards to anyone with a reminder to download their contact list. These are all the contacts they have made through a connection with each other at the event.